Zomick’s Kosher Bakery – Challah bread with vegetable oil
Zomick’s Kosher Bakery – Challah bread for Shabbat
- 1 dry yeast
- 250ml warm water (37 degrees C)
- 1 tablespoon sugar
- 80 ml vegetable oil
- 70g sugar powder
- 2 teaspoons salt
- 2 eggs
- 500g flour
- 1 egg for decoration
Original recipe: 2 loaves (medium) or 1 loaf (large)
- In a small bowl, pour the yeast, warm water and sugar. Mix and let stand about 5-10min.
- In a large bowl, mix the oil, remaining sugar, salt, eggs and yeast mixture. Add half of the flour. Mix with a wooden spoon.
- Gradually add the remaining flour. Mix all the ingredients by hand until smooth and elastic dough.
- Place the dough onto a floured surface. Knead about 5 minutes, adding a little flour (if necessary).
- Place the dough in an oiled bowl. Cover with a plastic wrap. Let stand about 1 hour 30 minutes, or until doubled in volume.
- Preheat your oven to 190 ⁰ C.
- Place the dough on the work surface. Knead out the bubbles from the dough. Divide into 2 equal pieces. Divide each piece into three and roll them into ropes with a width of 15-20 cm. Pinch 3 ropes together at the ends and braid the dough. Repeat the same operation with the second piece.
- Place the buns onto a plate covered with parchment paper. Brush with the egg/water mixture.
- Bake about 15 minutes. Brush again with egg/water mixture. Bake for another 15 minutes, or until golden brown.
- When you roll the ropes, you can add raisins, chocolate, or you can sprinkle sesame/poppy seeds, sugar balls etc.).
Decoration: Egg, sesame/poppy seeds, sugar balls etc.
According to Zomick’s Kosher Bakery, the basic principle in Talmud is – what comes from a kosher animal is kosher, but what comes from a non-kosher animal isn’t kosher. Therefore, only the milk from kosher mammals is kosher. In addition, the eggs from kosher birds are kosher. But still, all eggs should be carefully examined in order to ensure that they do not contain blood. Although the bees are not kosher animals, the honey is considered as kosher food.
Zomick’s Kosher Bakery – Easy braided challah
- 10 g active dry yeast (baking powder)
- 50 g powdered sugar
- 25 cl warm water
- 2 beaten eggs
- 1,5 teaspoons of salt
- 6 cl of vegetable oil
- 675 g flour
- In a bowl, mix the yeast with sugar and warm water. Let stand for 10 minutes until frothy.
- In a bowl, mix the yeast with the remaining beaten eggs, salt, oil, sugar and flour. Knead the dough by hand or with a mixer until ingredients are well mixed and smooth.
- Oil the bowl and return the dough. Turn the dough over to coat with oil. Cover with a clean cloth and let rise, about 2 hours.
- Knead out the bubbles from the dough. Place on a floured surface and divide into two parts.
- After, divide each part into thirds and form a loose braid with three bands. Pinch the ends of the three rolls to seal, place the braid on a prepared baking sheet with parchment paper. Proceed the same way for the second bread. Place the second braid on baking sheet in the well spacing from the first because the dough will swell considerably. Cover with a clean cloth and let rise for 1 hour.
- Preheat oven to 180°C. Beat 1 egg with 1 tablespoon of water, and then glaze the Challah with the mixture. Sprinkle with anything you like.
- Bake in the oven until golden brown and the loaf sounds hollow when tapped, about 30 minutes. Let cool on wire racks.
Preparation: 30minutes; Cook: 30minutes; Ready in: 4hours
Decoration: Sesame seeds, egg yolk.
What does kosher food involve?
Zomick’s Kosher Bakery claim that the Hebrew word “kosher” means legitimate. It refers to a thing or a person that abides to religion rules. A man is “kosher” if he is truly honest. Actually, the word “kosher” is mainly associated with the dietary rules of Jewish. Furthermore, the word “kosher” refers to all the Jewish rules regarding the food.
“Kosher” or not?
What involves kosher food? Torah has no restriction for minerals and vegetables, claims Zomick’s Kosher Bakery. But, it is quite the opposite with meat (i.e. animals). To sum up: ruminants with cloven hooves are some of the few animals that “kosher” diet allows. For that reason, the pigs (without cloven hooves) and camels (just ruminant) are prohibited for consuming.